Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Nancy Pearl Book Award
Share |



PNWA Nancy Pearl Book Award a contest for the published author

PNWA’s Nancy Pearl Book Award is a NEW literary contest designed to recognize recently published works by PNWA members. Books with an original copyright date of 2015 can be submitted for consideration. Winners will be announced at the 2016 PNWA Conference (July 28 – 31), will receive $1000 in cash prizes and one month of promotion advertising on PNWA and Author magazine.

Click here to download a contest form

    forms must be received by 1.31.16

      1. Best Book, Fiction. Mainstream or Literary
      2. Best Book, Fiction. Genre
      3. Best Book, Memoir

      awards & benefits
      added details
      • Every book accepted will be judged by two librarians based on story, character, and narrative.The five finalists in each category will be notified in June 2015 prior to the PNWA summer conference (July 28-31, 2015). Winners will be announced at the conference.
      • Finalists who attend the PNWA summer conference will be given high viability during the conference.

        In 2004, NANCY PEARL won the Women’s National Book Association Award for her contribution to the world of books. The former Executive Director of the Washington Center for the Book, Nancy celebrates the written word by speaking at bookstores and libraries across the country and on her monthly television program Book Lust with Nancy Pearl on the Seattle Channel. She is a regular on National Public Radio’s "Morning Edition” and NPR affiliate stations KUOW in Seattle and KWGS in Tulsa. She has a Librarian Action Figure modeled in her likeness, and bestselling books that include, Book Lust, and Book Crush: For Kids and Teens.The New York Times calls Nancy Pearl "the talk of librarian circles.

        2016 Nancy Pearl Finalists
        Best Book, Fiction, Mainstream or Literary
        1. The Girl Who Wrote in Silk, by Kelli Estes
        2. Goddess on Fire, by Bharti Kirchner
        3. The Announcers, by J.G. Perkins
        4. Waiting for the Cool Kind of Crazy, by Michael Moore
        5. Uncle Kenny’s Other Secret Agenda, by Lawson Reinsch
        Best Book, Fiction, Genre
        1. Framed and Burning, by Lisa Brunette
        2. Grave Disturbance, by Martha Crites
        3. Aftershock, by Philip Donlay
        4. What Doesn’t Kill her, by Carla Norton
        5. Dealing with Blue, by Stacia Stojanoff
        Best Book, Memoir 
        1. The Sweet Dell, by Nicholas J. Brejer
        2. Fantastical Tales, by Marija Bulatovic
        3. Five Thousand Brothers-in-Law: Love in Angola Prison, by Shannon Hager

        Sign In

        Forgot your password?

        Haven't registered yet?


        7/28/2016 » 7/31/2016
        2016 PNWA Conference

        Thursday Keynote Speaker - Robert Dugoni

        Thursday Master Class: Navigating the Future of Publishing

        Thursday Master Class: The Art of Writing, with Robert Dugoni and Steven James

        Thursday Master Class: The Story of Your Life: A Memoir Master Class by William Kenower

        Community Search

        Sign Up for PNWA News

        Office: Writers' Cottage 317 NW Gilman Blvd., Ste. 8, Issaquah, WA 98027

        Open Monday-Friday from 10am-3pm

        directions >>

        Mailing: PMB 2717 - 1420 NW Gilman Blvd, Ste. 2,
        Issaquah, WA 98027

        Phone: (425) 673-2665
        Fax: (425) 961-0768